Solar surveillance trailer runtime explained
Runtime is the specification that decides whether a surveillance trailer records the incident or sits dark, and it is the one this industry discloses worst. This guide explains what the number actually means, how to calculate it yourself from figures a vendor will give you, and the questions that expose an under-powered unit before it is on your site.
Start with the sentence that makes the rest of this guide necessary: a runtime figure with no load attached to it is not a specification. Two trailers with identical batteries can differ by a factor of three in how long they last, because one is running four cameras and edge analytics and the other is running one camera at low frame rate.
So the goal is not to find the vendor with the biggest number. It is to get enough information to compute the number yourself for your configuration.
The arithmetic
Runtime, in its simplest form:
hours = usable watt-hours ÷ average watts
Getting the two inputs right is where the work is.
- Converting amp-hours to watt-hours
- Vendors publish batteries in either unit. Multiply amp-hours by nominal system voltage: a 200 Ah bank at 48V is 9,600 Wh; a 100 Ah bank at 12V is only 1,200 Wh. This is why quoting amp-hours without voltage is meaningless, and why a '200 Ah' trailer can be eight times the battery of another '100 Ah' trailer.
- Usable is less than nameplate
- Lithium systems are typically managed to 80–90% depth of discharge to preserve cycle life, and the battery management system will cut off before zero. Assume roughly 85% of nameplate is actually available, so 9,600 Wh becomes around 8,200 Wh usable.
- Average load, not idle load
- Cameras are the smallest part of the budget on a modern unit — a documented figure like 14 W total camera draw is realistic for low-power cameras. The bigger consumers are the cellular radio while transmitting, edge analytics, the recorder or gateway, PTZ motors, and any heating. Ask for total system draw while streaming, not camera draw alone.
- Temperature derating
- Lithium capacity falls in cold weather and charging is restricted below freezing. A runtime figure measured at 20°C will overstate what you get in a northern January — exactly when nights are longest and solar harvest is lowest. Ask whether the figure is derated and whether the battery is heated.
Worked example: 9,600 Wh nameplate at 85% usable is about 8,200 Wh. At a 45 W average system draw that is roughly 180 hours, or about 7.5 days. At 150 W it is about 55 hours — just over two days. Same trailer, same battery. The load is the whole story.
Reserve versus harvest: two different questions
Buyers usually ask “how long does it run with no sun?” That is the reserve question, and it matters for a bad stretch of weather. But day to day, the question that determines whether a unit stays up indefinitely is different: does average daily harvest exceed average daily consumption?
If harvest exceeds consumption across the worst month at your latitude, the battery is a buffer and the unit runs indefinitely. If it does not, the battery is a countdown and the unit will eventually brown out no matter how large the bank is. Both numbers matter, and the array-to-battery ratio tells you which design philosophy a vendor has chosen.
A large battery with a modest array is a reserve-led design: long endurance, slow recovery, and often paired with a generator input for exactly that reason. A larger array relative to storage is a harvest-led design: it recovers within a day and tends to stay ahead of load, at the cost of less absolute reserve. Neither is wrong — they suit different sites. A heavily shaded urban lot cannot harvest, so reserve and generator support win. An open rural site with good exposure favours harvest.
What providers actually publish
Of the six providers whose public materials we reviewed as of September 2026, three publish battery capacity, three publish solar wattage, and one publishes runtime and recharge time. None publish the load their figures assume.
| Provider | Solar | Battery | Runtime / recharge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Verkada MT81 | 1600 W | 6.6 or 13.2 kWh | Not publicly specified |
| Mobile Pro Systems Commander 3400 | 800 W | 12,500 Wh | — (optional generator, 20 gal) |
| Sharpvue MAST | 1,170 W | 200 Ah @ 48V (~9.6 kWh) | 8–10 days runtime; 6–8 h recharge; 14 W camera draw |
| LVT | Solar-powered (wattage not stated) | Not publicly specified | — (references backup smart generators) |
| ECAM | Solar-powered (wattage not stated) | Not publicly specified | Not publicly specified |
| WCCTV | Solar-powered (wattage not stated) | Not publicly specified | Not publicly specified |
Read that table as a disclosure map rather than a quality ranking. Several of these providers sell a managed service where they carry responsibility for the unit performing, which is a legitimate reason not to publish component specifications. But if you are buying the equipment, the performance risk transfers to you, and you need the numbers.
Note also that the two largest batteries pair with quite different arrays. Verkada's 13.2 kWh option behind 1600 W is a strong combination on both axes. Mobile Pro Systems' 12,500 Wh behind 800 W is clearly reserve-led, which is consistent with offering a generator. Sharpvue's ~9.6 kWh behind 1,170 W is harvest-led, with a generator input available where a site needs it.
Six questions that expose an under-powered unit
- What is total system draw while streaming, in watts?
- Not camera draw. If a vendor cannot answer this, they have not measured it, and every runtime claim they make is an estimate.
- What runtime do you guarantee at that draw, with no solar input?
- Ask for it in writing, with the depth of discharge and temperature stated.
- What is the array wattage, and what daily harvest does it produce in December at my latitude?
- A vendor experienced in your region will have a real answer. Harvest in December can be a third of June at northern latitudes.
- Is the battery heated, and what happens below freezing?
- Lithium charging is restricted or blocked when cold. An unheated bank in a northern winter may not accept charge on the coldest mornings.
- What is the recharge time from empty to full, in hours of usable sun?
- This is the recovery figure. A unit that takes two days of sun to recover from a drawdown is chasing its own load.
- Is there a generator or AC input, and what connector?
- Not a failure of the solar design — a sensible hedge for shaded or high-load sites. Ask whether it is standard or an option.
One phrase to treat as a red flag
“Unlimited runtime.” No solar system has unlimited runtime; energy in must exceed energy out, and on a sufficiently dark or heavily-loaded site it will not. A vendor using that phrase is either describing energy-positive operation imprecisely or has not thought about your site. Ask them to restate it as a reserve figure at a stated load and see what comes back.
The same applies to any unqualified single number, including favourable ones. A published figure like “8–10 days” is useful only with its qualifiers attached — configuration, camera count, load, temperature, battery condition and available solar all move it, and a vendor that states those is giving you something you can actually verify against your own site.
- How long can a solar surveillance trailer run without sunlight?
- It depends entirely on stored energy divided by system load, so there is no category answer. As a rough frame: a unit carrying roughly 10 kWh of usable battery and drawing around 50 W continuously has about 8 days of reserve; the same battery drawing 150 W has under three. That is why a runtime figure is meaningless without the load it was measured at. Among the providers we reviewed, only one publishes a runtime figure at all — Sharpvue publishes 8–10 days on a full charge for the MAST, with a documented 14 W total camera draw. Everyone else publishes capacity, or nothing.
- Why do vendors publish battery capacity but not runtime?
- Because capacity is a fixed property of the hardware and runtime is not — it moves with camera count, analytics running at the edge, radio transmit power, heater or fan operation, and temperature. A vendor publishing a single runtime number is making an assumption about your configuration that may not hold. That is a fair reason to be cautious, but it is not a reason to publish nothing: the useful disclosure is runtime at a stated load and temperature, which lets you scale it to your own configuration.
- How do I calculate runtime myself?
- Usable battery watt-hours divided by average system watts gives hours. Convert amp-hours to watt-hours by multiplying by nominal voltage: a 200 Ah bank at 48V is 9,600 Wh. Then apply two corrections most people forget. First, usable capacity is less than nameplate — lithium systems are commonly limited to 80–90% depth of discharge to protect cycle life. Second, average load is higher than idle load, because transmitting video, running analytics and PTZ movement all spike consumption. If a vendor gives you nameplate capacity and idle draw, your real runtime will be materially shorter than the arithmetic suggests.
- Does a bigger battery always mean longer runtime?
- For a fixed load, yes. But the ratio of solar array to battery matters more for sustained operation. A large battery behind a small array holds a long reserve but refills slowly, so once drawn down it may never recover during a short winter day — which is why some designs pair a big battery with a generator. A larger array relative to storage refills faster and can stay ahead of daily load without intervention. Compare both numbers, not just the battery.
- What conditions should a runtime figure state?
- Four things: the load in watts, the ambient temperature, the depth of discharge assumed, and whether any solar input is included. 'Eight days with no sun at 50 W and 20°C to 80% DoD' is a specification you can check. 'Up to eight days' is marketing. Lithium capacity drops noticeably in cold weather, so a figure measured at room temperature will overstate January performance in a northern state.
- Is unlimited runtime possible on a solar trailer?
- No, and any vendor claiming it is being loose with language. What is achievable is energy-positive operation: an array sized so that average daily harvest exceeds average daily consumption across the worst month at your latitude, in which case the battery is a buffer rather than a countdown. That is the right design target — but it is site-specific, and a system that is energy-positive in Phoenix in June may not be in Seattle in December. Always ask for the reserve figure as well, because that is what carries you through a genuinely bad week.
Research & methodology
This comparison is compiled from publicly available information, including each manufacturer's own website and product documentation. Where a specification, capability or price is not published by the vendor, this page states “Not publicly specified” rather than guessing — that phrase means the information was not found in public sources, not that the vendor lacks the capability.
Statements of fact are cited below. Sections labelled as considerations, “best for”, or “who should choose” are Sharpvue's interpretation of that public information, not statements of fact.
Last reviewed: September 2026
Competitor products and services change. Prospective buyers should verify current specifications and pricing directly with each manufacturer before making a purchasing decision.
Sources
- ECAM (GardaWorld) — ECAM — Mobile Surveillance Units, Live Video Monitoring, Hybrid Security (accessed 2026-09-07)
- ECAM (GardaWorld) — About Us (accessed 2026-09-07)
- GardaWorld (via PR Newswire) — GardaWorld Completes Acquisition of Stealth Monitoring (published 2024-10-31; accessed 2026-09-07)
- LiveView Technologies — Frequently Asked Questions (accessed 2026-09-07)
- LiveView Technologies (via GlobeNewswire) — LVT Releases Essentials: New Mobile Security Solution Delivers Visibility and Deterrence at Accessible Entry Price (published 2026-08-26; accessed 2026-09-07)
- Mobile Pro Systems — Commander 3400 Mobile Surveillance Trailer (accessed 2026-09-07)
- Verkada — Verkada Pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)
- Verkada — Mobile Surveillance Trailers for Remote Video Monitoring (accessed 2026-09-07)
- WCCTV USA — Mobile Solar Surveillance Trailers (accessed 2026-09-07)
Sharpvue specifications referenced
All third-party trademarks, product names and company names are the property of their respective owners. Sharpvue is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies referenced on this page unless otherwise stated. Comparisons are based on publicly available information as of September 2026 and may change. This page is published by Sharpvue, LLC, which manufactures and sells the mobile surveillance trailers described as Sharpvue products.
Ask us for the load figure, not just the runtime
Sharpvue publishes solar wattage, battery capacity, camera draw, runtime and recharge for every model. Tell us your site latitude and shading and we will work the numbers with you.
