We’re at GSX 2026 · Booth 1641 · Atlanta
Sharpvue
Comparison

Sharpvue vs. LVT: mobile surveillance trailer comparison

Organizations evaluating mobile surveillance trailers may encounter both Sharpvue and LVT (LiveView Technologies). Both field solar-powered units with AI detection, cellular connectivity and deterrence, but their approaches to hardware disclosure, software architecture and commercial model differ. This guide examines each company's publicly available information to help buyers understand those differences.

In short: LVT sells a leased, managed program on its own platform, backed by the largest brand presence in the category. Sharpvue sells or rents the hardware through a dealer network and lets the buyer choose the monitoring platform. Neither model is better in the abstract — they suit different procurement structures, and the sections below set out what each company actually publishes so you can judge which fits.

This page is published by Sharpvue, which manufactures the Sharpvue trailers described here. Sharpvue is not affiliated with LVT. Statements about LVT come from LVT's own public materials as of September 2026 and are cited at the foot of the page.

Quick comparison
Sharpvue compared with LVT (LiveView Technologies) on published specifications and capabilities.
CategorySharpvueLVT
Mobile surveillance trailerMAST (22 ft mast) and MAST-mini (16 ft mast)Mobile surveillance units. LVT Essentials was introduced in August 2026 as an entry-level unit.
Manufacture & country of originDesigned and manufactured in Chapin, South Carolina; country of origin United StatesNot publicly specified
Solar power1,170 W solar array (MAST)LVT Essentials is described as solar-powered, for off-grid operation. Array wattage is not stated.
Battery capacity200 Ah @ 48V battery bank (MAST)Not publicly specified
Runtime without solar8–10 days of continuous operation on a full charge, per the published MAST specifications. Runtime depends on configuration, camera count, system load, ambient temperature, battery condition and available solar.Not publicly specified
Recharge characteristics6–8 hours of sunlight to a full charge (MAST); 5 hours (MAST-mini). An external generator input (100 A Anderson connector) is available for faster charging. Recharge time depends on solar availability and conditions.LVT's FAQ refers to “backup smart generators to ensure optimal uptime”. Solar recharge time is not stated.
Mast configuration22 ft telescoping mast (MAST); 16 ft (MAST-mini)Not publicly specified
Camera flexibilityMAST is configured with a Sharpvue Low Power PTZ and two panoramic 180° cameras (SV-C8477-HPG1), 14 W total camera draw. Cameras publish standard RTSP streams and support ONVIF.LVT Essentials includes a 20MP Axis NDAA-compliant multi-sensor camera. LVT's FAQ states units can detect humans up to 1,200 ft depending on configuration. Support for third-party cameras is not stated.
VMS architectureChoice of Sharpvue iVISION (cloud), Alarm.com for Business, or OpenEye. Standard RTSP streams and ONVIF support also allow use with a third-party VMS.Units operate on LVT's own platform. Support for a third-party VMS is not stated in LVT's public materials.
AI analyticsAI-powered alerts, search and analytics in the iVISION VMSLVT publishes “powerful video analytics” and intrusion detection. The Essentials announcement states that unit excludes “LVT's agentic AI or advanced features designed for comprehensive intelligent site management”.
Remote diagnosticsODIN, the AI agent built into Sharpvue trailers, reads power, connectivity, VMS, gateway and camera state and reports faults through the Sharpvue dealer portal. Dealers can run remote remediation such as clearing a stuck gateway or power-cycling a VMS.Not publicly specified
Cellular connectivityMulti-carrier 5G / LTE (not bonded) with automatic carrier-to-carrier failoverLVT Essentials is described as using a private cellular network for video security.
Satellite connectivityStarlink available as an optionNot publicly specified
LPR optionsNot publicly specifiedLicense Plate Recognition is listed as a capability.
Audio deterrenceSharpvue BLAST IP strobe speaker — 120 dB siren with two-way talk-down and listen-in, native ONVIF and SIP, PoE poweredTwo-way audio is listed as a capability, and loudspeakers are referenced as a product.
Strobes / visual deterrenceSharpvue BLAST includes front and rear strobe warning lights. The SUPER BLAST three-zone lighting model is announced but not yet released.Strobe lights and floodlights are listed. LVT Essentials includes blue strobe lights.
Cloud capabilitiesContinuous 24/7 recording to the iVISION cloud, with unlimited users and unlimited concurrent streamsFootage is typically kept for 30 days and each customer can customize the period. LVT Essentials stores recorded video for 14 days.
NDAA Section 889 posturePublished as NDAA compliant; country of origin United States. Component-level documentation available on request.The Essentials unit is described as including a 20MP Axis NDAA-compliant multi-sensor camera. A company-wide NDAA statement was not identified.
Dealer / reseller supportAuthorized dealer network with a dealer portal covering fleet health, mapping and remote diagnosticsNot publicly specified
Purchase optionsPurchase through Sharpvue or an authorized dealerLVT's FAQ describes units as leased by clients. An outright purchase option was not identified in LVT's public materials.
Rental optionsDealer rental program, available on both OpenEye and Alarm.com configurationsLease / subscription model, per LVT's FAQ.
Monitoring optionsRemote video monitoring available; no monitoring subscription is required in order to own the hardware24/7 live remote video monitoring is available.
Publicly available pricingNot published. Quoted per configuration; full hardware spec tables are published ungated.LVT's FAQ states units “can cost anywhere from $1,500 to $4,000 depending on your needs and configurations”. LVT Essentials was announced at $1,000 per month in August 2026.

Not publicly specified” means the figure was not found in the vendor's public materials during our last review — it does not mean the capability is absent. Ask the vendor directly. 2 further categories were omitted from this table because neither company publishes information on them.

Hardware architecture

The most practical difference for an engineer evaluating both is how much of the hardware is documented publicly. Sharpvue publishes a full spec table per model: the MAST carries a 1,170 W solar array, a 200 Ah 48V battery bank, a 22 ft telescoping mast, and a documented 14 W total camera draw across a low-power PTZ and two panoramic 180° cameras. The MAST-mini is the same platform at a 16 ft mast for tighter sites.

LVT's public materials focus on outcomes rather than component specifications. Its FAQ publishes a detection figure — humans detectable up to 1,200 ft depending on configuration — and refers to backup smart generators for uptime, but battery capacity, mast height and runtime are not stated. That is a legitimate way to market a managed service, where the vendor owns responsibility for the equipment performing. It does mean a specification-led comparison is one-sided: we can tell you what Sharpvue publishes and we cannot tell you LVT's equivalent figures, because they are not public. Ask LVT for them directly.

Software and platform architecture

This is where the two diverge most sharply. LVT units operate on LVT's own platform. Support for a third-party VMS is not stated in its public materials, so a buyer should assume the platform is part of the package and confirm otherwise with LVT.

Sharpvue takes a different approach: the same trailer is offered on Sharpvue iVISION, on Alarm.com for Business, or on OpenEye, and the cameras publish standard RTSP streams with ONVIF support.

Interpretation: for organizations that already operate a video management system across their buildings, or integrators who standardise their customers on one platform, that architecture can matter more than any single hardware specification — it decides whether an off-grid site appears in the console the team already watches, or in a second one. For an organization with no incumbent VMS and no wish to run one, platform choice is a feature they will never use, and a single-vendor managed program is the simpler purchase.

Power and runtime

Sharpvue publishes 8–10 days of continuous operation on a full charge, a 6–8 hour recharge in sunlight, and an external generator input on a 100 A Anderson connector for sites that need to top up faster than the sun allows. Those figures apply to the published configuration; runtime moves with camera count, system load, ambient temperature, battery condition and available solar, and any vendor quoting a single runtime number without those qualifiers is overselling it.

LVT does not publish battery capacity, solar wattage or runtime. Its FAQ does reference backup smart generators to maintain uptime, which suggests a hybrid power strategy on at least some configurations. If runtime through extended overcast is a material requirement for your site — and in the Pacific Northwest, the Northeast in winter, or any heavily shaded site, it is — get the figure from every vendor in writing, along with the conditions it was measured under.

For the underlying engineering, see the vendor-neutral buyer's guide.

Connectivity

Sharpvue runs multi-carrier 5G/LTE with automatic carrier-to-carrier failover — not bonded, so a single session does not span carriers, but a dead carrier does not take the site offline. Starlink is available as an option for sites no carrier reaches, which matters for remote construction, utility corridors and rural infrastructure.

LVT's Essentials announcement describes a private cellular network for video security. Satellite connectivity is not mentioned in the public materials we reviewed. If you have sites with no reliable carrier coverage, that is a specific question to put to both vendors.

AI, cameras and deterrence

Both companies lead with AI. LVT publishes video analytics, intrusion detection and LPR as capabilities, plus two-way audio, strobes and floodlights. One detail worth reading carefully: the August 2026 Essentials announcement states that unit excludes “LVT's agentic AI or advanced features designed for comprehensive intelligent site management”. If you are quoted the $1,000/month entry unit, confirm which analytics are and are not included.

Sharpvue provides AI-powered alerts, search and analytics in the iVISION VMS, with NDAA-compliant AI cameras on the mast. Audio and visual deterrence is delivered by the Sharpvue BLAST IP strobe speaker — a 120 dB siren with two-way talk-down and listen-in, front and rear strobes, and native ONVIF and SIP support. LPR and trailer-mounted thermal are not published as Sharpvue trailer configurations, so this page does not claim them; ask a Sharpvue specialist about your specific sensor requirement.

Deployment and commercial model

LVT's FAQ describes units as leased by clients. An outright purchase path was not identified in its public materials. Leasing has real advantages: no capital outlay, the vendor carries maintenance and replacement risk, and the cost lands in operating rather than capital budgets — which for many organizations is the difference between a project approved this quarter and one deferred a year.

Sharpvue is sold or rented through authorized dealers, with no monitoring subscription required in order to own the hardware. The dealer rental program runs on both OpenEye and Alarm.com configurations, so a short-term project can be covered without a purchase and a long-term site can be bought outright.

Interpretation:the deciding question is usually duration and fleet size. A single 90-day project rarely justifies a purchase in either direction. A distributed fleet held for years, or a dealer building recurring revenue on top of the hardware, changes the arithmetic — which is why Sharpvue's dealer program is structured around ownership plus remote fleet management rather than a single managed contract.

Total cost of ownership: what to price

Neither company publishes a figure you can drop into a budget without a conversation, so compare the cost categories rather than headline numbers: hardware or lease payment, monthly software or platform fees, cellular data, monitoring, deployment and installation, service and maintenance, contract term and early-termination terms, replacement equipment after damage or theft, and AI licensing tiers. A quote that looks lower on hardware and higher on AI licensing can invert over a three-year term.

Questions buyers should ask both vendors

  1. 01Do I own the equipment at the end of the term, or am I leasing it? What happens to the hardware if I stop paying?
  2. 02What is the battery capacity in amp-hours or watt-hours, and what is the tested runtime with no solar input?
  3. 03Can this unit stream to the VMS I already run, and by what protocol — RTSP, ONVIF, or a proprietary API?
  4. 04If I want to change monitoring providers in year three, does the hardware come with me?
  5. 05Is the AI included in the price I was quoted, or is it a separate tier? Which specific features are excluded?
  6. 06How long is video retained, where is it stored, and what does extending retention cost?
  7. 07Can I get component-level NDAA Section 889 documentation, not just a compliance statement?
  8. 08What is the total monthly cost including cellular data, AI licensing, monitoring and service — not just the hardware line?
Who fits which

LVT

Best for: Organizations that want a single vendor to run a managed mobile security program at scale

LVT (LiveView Technologies) is the most widely recognized name in the category and operates a large deployed fleet across retail, construction and municipal sites. Its public materials describe a leased, managed program: the unit, the platform and the service are delivered together rather than sold as hardware you own. In August 2026 LVT introduced Essentials, a lower-cost unit at a published monthly price, which the announcement states excludes LVT's agentic AI and advanced site-management features.

Strengths

  • Broad brand recognition and a large installed base in the category
  • Publishes a monthly cost range in its own FAQ, and a firm monthly price for the Essentials unit
  • Publishes long-range human detection figures (up to 1,200 ft depending on configuration)
  • Extensive public resource library and an established enterprise support organization
  • Essentials includes a 20MP Axis NDAA-compliant multi-sensor camera

Points to compare

  • Units are leased rather than purchased, per LVT's own FAQ — a different capital model than an outright buy
  • Support for third-party cameras or a third-party VMS is not stated in LVT's public materials
  • Hardware specifications such as battery capacity, runtime and mast height are not published
  • The Essentials unit is stated to exclude LVT's agentic AI and advanced features

Choose LVT if: You want one vendor accountable for hardware, platform and service under a managed lease, and a widely-deployed platform matters more to you than owning the equipment or choosing the software.

Strengths and points to compare are Sharpvue's interpretation of LVT's publicly available information, not statements of fact. LVT's official product information.

Sharpvue

Best for: Buyers who want to choose their own monitoring platform, and dealers or integrators building a service around the hardware

Sharpvue designs and manufactures the MAST (Mobile AI Surveillance Trailer) line in Chapin, South Carolina. Units are solar-charged, run multi-carrier 5G/LTE with optional Starlink, record continuously to the iVISION cloud, and carry NDAA-compliant cameras. Sharpvue takes a different approach on the software layer: the same trailer can be operated on Sharpvue iVISION, Alarm.com for Business, or OpenEye, and because the cameras publish standard RTSP streams and support ONVIF, it can also feed a third-party VMS a customer already runs.

Strengths

  • Manufactured in the United States, published as NDAA Section 889 compliant, with documentation available for regulated buyers
  • Supports a choice of three monitoring platforms (iVISION, Alarm.com for Business, OpenEye) rather than a single required platform
  • Cameras publish standard RTSP streams and support ONVIF, so the trailer can feed a VMS the customer already operates
  • Available to purchase or to rent through the authorized dealer network
  • Continuous recording to the cloud, so footage is retained off the unit
  • Multi-carrier 5G/LTE with automatic carrier-to-carrier failover, plus optional Starlink
  • Full hardware spec tables published for every model, ungated

Points to compare

  • Smaller installed base and brand footprint than LVT or ECAM
  • No in-house national guard-response service; live monitoring is delivered through the platform and dealer ecosystem
  • Pricing is quoted per configuration rather than published

Choose Sharpvue if: You want to own or rent purpose-built American hardware, choose the monitoring platform that fits your operation, and avoid committing to one closed ecosystem.

Strengths and points to compare are Sharpvue's interpretation of Sharpvue's publicly available information, not statements of fact. Sharpvue's official product information.

Who might choose LVT?

LVT may be a strong option for organizations standing up many sites at once that want a single vendor accountable for hardware, platform and service under one managed agreement, and for teams who would rather not operate video software at all. Its scale of deployment and brand recognition are genuine assets in a procurement process, and the new Essentials tier gives it a published entry price that most of the category lacks.

Who should consider Sharpvue?

Sharpvue tends to fit organizations that want technology flexibility and ownership: security integrators and dealers building recurring revenue on hardware they control, enterprises with an incumbent VMS, buyers with NDAA or domestic-manufacture requirements, teams that want remote diagnostics across a distributed fleet, and large-area sites — retail and grocery parking lots, shopping centres, construction, data center builds, logistics yards, critical infrastructure and municipalities.

Relevant reading: MAST · MAST-mini · Mobile surveillance · Remote video monitoring · Retail · Construction · Critical infrastructure · Dealer program

Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Sharpvue and LVT?
The clearest difference is the commercial and software model. LVT's FAQ describes its units as leased by clients and operated on LVT's own platform; support for a third-party VMS is not stated in its public materials. Sharpvue sells or rents the trailer through its dealer network and supports a choice of three monitoring platforms — Sharpvue iVISION, Alarm.com for Business, or OpenEye — with cameras that publish standard RTSP streams and support ONVIF, so the same unit can also feed a VMS a customer already runs. On hardware, Sharpvue publishes full specifications (1,170 W solar, 200 Ah at 48V, 22 ft mast); LVT publishes detection range but not battery, runtime or mast height.
Is Sharpvue an alternative to LVT?
For many deployments, yes — both companies field solar-powered mobile surveillance units with AI detection, cellular connectivity, audio and strobe deterrence, and remote video monitoring. Whether Sharpvue is the right alternative depends on whether you want to own or rent hardware and pick your software, or prefer a leased managed program from a single vendor. Buyers who specifically want LVT's platform and its scale of deployment are the ones least likely to switch.
How much does an LVT unit cost compared with Sharpvue?
LVT's own FAQ states units “can cost anywhere from $1,500 to $4,000 depending on your needs and configurations”, and in August 2026 LVT announced Essentials at $1,000 per month — an entry-level unit that the announcement states excludes LVT's agentic AI and advanced site-management features. Sharpvue does not publish pricing; it quotes per configuration and publishes full hardware spec tables ungated so you can evaluate the equipment before a sales conversation. Third-party purchase estimates circulate for LVT but do not come from LVT, so this page does not treat them as LVT pricing.
Does LVT support third-party cameras or a third-party VMS?
This is not stated in LVT's publicly available information as of our last review, so we do not characterise it either way — ask LVT directly. What is published: the LVT Essentials unit includes a 20MP Axis NDAA-compliant multi-sensor camera. On the Sharpvue side, cameras publish standard RTSP streams and support ONVIF, and the trailer is offered on iVISION, Alarm.com for Business or OpenEye.
How long can a Sharpvue trailer operate without sunlight?
Sharpvue publishes 8–10 days of continuous operation on a full charge for the MAST, with a 6–8 hour recharge in sunlight and an external generator input for faster charging. Runtime depends on configuration, camera count, system load, ambient temperature, battery condition and available solar, so treat it as a specification for the published configuration rather than a guarantee for every deployment. LVT does not publish battery capacity or runtime figures, so the two cannot be compared numerically on this point.
Does Sharpvue support AI analytics?
Yes. AI-powered alerts, search and analytics are part of the iVISION VMS, and the trailers carry AI cameras. LVT publishes “powerful video analytics” and intrusion detection, and separately notes that its Essentials unit excludes its agentic AI features.

Comparing more than two vendors? See the mobile surveillance trailer comparison center or the full list of LVT alternatives.

Research & methodology

This comparison is compiled from publicly available information, including each manufacturer's own website and product documentation. Where a specification, capability or price is not published by the vendor, this page states “Not publicly specified” rather than guessing — that phrase means the information was not found in public sources, not that the vendor lacks the capability.

Statements of fact are cited below. Sections labelled as considerations, “best for”, or “who should choose” are Sharpvue's interpretation of that public information, not statements of fact.

Last reviewed: September 2026

Competitor products and services change. Prospective buyers should verify current specifications and pricing directly with each manufacturer before making a purchasing decision.

All third-party trademarks, product names and company names are the property of their respective owners. Sharpvue is not affiliated with or endorsed by the companies referenced on this page unless otherwise stated. Comparisons are based on publicly available information as of September 2026 and may change. This page is published by Sharpvue, LLC, which manufactures and sells the mobile surveillance trailers described as Sharpvue products.

Compare Sharpvue for yourself

Full hardware spec tables are published for every MAST model — no gated PDF and no sales call required to see the numbers. Bring your site conditions and we will tell you what the configuration actually does.

Already using LVT? Talk to a Sharpvue specialist about what adding Sharpvue to your fleet could look like.